top of page


The DMA is awarded to a BOC certified athletic trainer who has been in practice as an athletic trainer in Pennsylvania for a minimum of 10 years and demonstrates distinguished professional achievement in the practice of athletic training in their respective employment setting including (but not limited to) one of the following:

  • Secondary School

  • College/University

  • Professional Sport

  • Clinic/Industrial/Corporate

  • Educator

  • Other Setting



These athletic trainers deserve recognized merit for demonstrated excellence in their primary fields of practice and significant influence on the athletic training profession and the organizations and people they choose to serve.


2022   Rebecca Mokris, Gannon University

2020   Scott Devore, Bald Eagle HS

2019   Julie Ramsey Emrhein, Dickinson College, California University of Pennsylvania

2018   Joseph Iezzi, Cheyney Univ., Philadelphia Univ. Downingtown H.S.
           Greg Janik, Kings College

2017   Yvette Ingram, Lock Haven University
           James McCrossin, Philadelphia Flyers

2016   William R. Mills Jr. (Sonny), Harrisburg High School
           Jeff Shields, CPRS Physical Therapy
           Kenneth Rodgers, Alfred I DuPont Hospital

2015   Roberta J. Simmons, Pennridge High School

2014   Robert Blanc, University of Pittsburgh
           Edwin A. "Sandy" Bush, Messiah College
           Thomas West, California University of Pennsylvania

2013   Rick Burkholder, Kansas City Chiefs (formerly Phila. Eagles)
           A.J. Duffy, Widener University
           John L. Moyer, Wilson High School
           Paul Scheuch, Abington Heights High School

2012   Linda Fabrizio Mazzoli, OptiPower Global Enterprises, Inc.
           Linda Platt Meyer, California University of PA

2011   Gary R. Hanna, Edinboro University

  Glen "Larry" Cooper, Penn-Trafford High School

2007   Bonnie Siple, Slippery Rock University

2005   Dr. Craig Denagar, Penn State University

2004   Dr. Mike Sitler, Temple University

2001   Dr. Paula Sammarone-Turocy, Duquesne University

1997   William B. Biddington,  California University of PA

1991   Mark Keppler, Bucknell University

1990   Paul Slocum, Geissinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center

1981   Francis Sheridan, Lafayette College

1989   Joe Vegso, University of Pennsylvania

1988   Dave Tomasi, Lock Haven University

1987   Ted Quedenfeld, Temple University

1986   Joe Godek, West Chester University

1985   Phil Donley, West Chester University

1984   Hal Biggs, Bucknell University

1983   Chuck Medlar,  Penn State University

1982   Joe Blankowitch, Bethlehem High School

1981   Francis Sheridan, Lafayette College

bottom of page